Machhindra are the champions of 8th Birat Gold Cup 2080

Machhindra Football Club, Kathmandu, secured the Birat Gold Cup title, defeating Sangrila Morang Football Club 2-0 in the final held at Biratnagar’s Sahid Maidan. This win marked their third title this season, having previously won the K.P. Oli Cup and the Bagmati Gold Cup.

Tshiring Gurung and Hisub Thapaliya scored crucial goals for Machhindra, both in extra time. Gurung capitalized on Sangrila’s goalkeeper Bishal Sunar’s weakness in the 113th minute. Likewise, Thapaliya struck with a stunning long-range goal just six minutes later.

Sangrila Morang’s coach Ranu Rana Magar attributed their defeat to injuries to key players, while captain Abhishek Limbu acknowledged Machhindra’s strength.

Machhindra’s coach Santosh Neupane expressed satisfaction with the victory, highlighting their mental preparedness. Captain Bishal Shrestha credited the team’s resilience for their first-ever Birat Gold Cup win.

As the winners, Machhindra received a cash prize of NPR 1.1 million (11 lakhs), while Sangrila Morang settled for NPR 550,000 as the runner-up.

Individual Trophies in 8th Birat Gold Cup 2080

Individual Trophies
Category Player Prize (NPR)
Player of the Match (Final) Laken Limbu (Machhindra) 11,000
Best Goalkeeper Bishal Shrestha (Machhindra) 21,000
Best Coach Santosh Neupane (Machhindra) 21,000
Highest Goal Scorer Stéphane Binong (Machhindra) 21,000
Best Player Mahendra Karki (Sangrila Morang) Motorcycle

Laken Limbu was named Player of the Match. Similarly, awards were given to Bishal Shrestha for Best Goalkeeper, Santosh Neupane for Best Coach, and Stéphane Binong for Highest Goal Scorer, each receiving NPR 21,000. Mahendra Karki from Sangrila was awarded a motorcycle as the Best Player.

The winners were honoured by dignitaries including the Chief Minister of Province 1, Kedar Karki, the President of ANFA, Pankaj Bikram Nembang, and Kishor Shahi, President of the Birat Gold Cup Trust.

Leave a Reply