India’s SAFF Championship Dominance: Eight-Time Winners and Consistent Contenders

India’s SAFF Championship Glory: Eight-Time Winners and Consistent Contenders

India’s national football team has a strong record in the South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) Championship. They have participated in all 13 editions of the tournament and have finished lower than second place only once, when they secured third place in 2003. India has won the SAFF Championship a total of eight times, making them the most successful team in the history of the tournament. They have also finished as runners-up on four occasions.

As of the latest available FIFA rankings, India is currently ranked 101st in the world. The head coach of the Indian national team is Igor Stimac. Under his guidance, the team aims to improve its performance and achieve better results in international competitions.

The SAFF Championship has been a platform for India to show its footballing prowess in South Asia. Their best finishes in the tournament have come in 1993, 1997, 1999, 2005, 2009, 2011, 2015, and 2021, when they emerged as champions. These victories highlight India’s dominance in the region and serve as a testament to their footballing achievements.

“India’s SAFF Championship Triumphs: A Legacy of Dominance”

  1. 1993: India
  2. 1997: India
  3. 1999: India
  4. 2005: India
  5. 2009: India
  6. 2011: India
  7. 2015: India
  8. 2021: India

Also Read: SAFF Championship 2023

Leave a Reply